Remembering Earl...


Dr. Earl Reum

"He changed the world, one kid at a time. In countless speeches and workshops over more than 50 years, Earl Reum persuaded millions of teenagers to dream big; some for an hour, many for a lifetime."

Time Magazine
December 20, 2010


A tribute to the "Master Wizard" of student leadership training!

The Earl Reum Award

Inspired by Earl and presented annually for excellence in working with activity advisers...

About this award

The Earl Reum Award was created in 1991 to honor writer and speaker Dr. Earl Reum, whose contributions to the field of student leadership development over the years have inspired thousands of advisers and students in the United States and Canada.  He wrote extensively to create a leadership curriculum for teacher and student use, authoring many articles dealing with a variety of student activity topics. He also was a featured motivational and inspirational speaker at countless leadership workshops and conferences over the years. In 1973, Dr. Reum founded the National Association of Workshop Directors (NAWD), and throughout his career was a leader in his own right as well as an ardent supporter of student activities. 

Eight regional Earl Reum Award recipients receive a plaque and one National Earl Reum Award recipient also receives a ring, all provided by Herff Jones. The regional and national Earl Reum Awards are presented at the annual National Conference on Student Activities, sponsored by NAWD and held each December.

A Regional Earl Reum Award winner is chosen from each of eight regions, as defined by the National Association of Secondary School Principals (NASSP), of the United States.

The 2017 Regional Earl Reum Award recipients are presented below:

  • Paul Branagan - Massachusetts (Region 1)
  • Roberta Bittel - New York (Region 2)
  • Traci Spain - Tennessee (Region 3)
  • Tom Heethuis - Michigan (Region 4)
  • Vicki Carstens - Iowa (Region 5)
  • Daniel Dodge - Arizona (Region 6)
  • Denise Van Doorn - California (Region 7)
  • Beth David - Louisiana (Region 8)

Each of the Regional Earl Reum Award recipients is truly "an excellent teacher of teachers", embodying the spirit and ideals set forth by Earl while serving as true inspiration to student leaders, fellow advisors, and activity directors. But only one of them can be selected to become the National Earl Reum Award winner...



Congratulations to the 2017 National
Earl Reum Award

of Michigan


The following individuals have been presented with the National Earl Reum Award, since its' inception in 1991:

  • 2017 - Tom Heethuis, Michigan
  • 2016 - Terri Johnson, Missouri
  • 2015 - Terry Hamm, Texas
  • 2014 - Doug Erickson, Minnesota
  • 2013 - Peter Cahn, California
  • 2012 - Kathy Coll, Pennsylvania
  • 2011 - Gary Oberste, Oklahoma
  • 2010 - Ann Postlewaite, Minnesota
  • 2009 - Bob Tryanski, Kansas
  • 2008 - Karen Dawson, Missouri
  • 2007 - Sandy Ginger, Nevada
  • 2006 - Harry Bettencourt, California
  • 2005 - Lyn Fiscus, Virginia
  • 2004 - Stu Shaffer, California
  • 2003 - Eddie Bull, Texas
  • 2002 - Roger Chambers, Wisconsin
  • 2001 - Maris Aldrich, Montana
  • 2000 - Fredonia Williams, Alabama
  • 1999 - Les Anderson, North Dakota
  • 1998 - Phil Gugliuzza, Louisiana
  • 1997 - Nancy Moen, Oregon
  • 1996 - Susan Fortin, Washington
  • 1995 - Denise Butler, Florida
  • 1994 - Don Larsen, Wisconsin
  • 1993 - Elena Zongrone, New York
  • 1992 - Patrica Boss, Michigan
  • 1991 - Jean Wyatt, Texas